7 Chakra Meaning – What Are Chakras And How Do They Affect Us

By | May 6, 2017

In any person’s body, there are over hundreds of Chakras. However, amongst the hundreds located at various points of a human’s body, there are 7 main Chakras that are the most significant and important. These main Chakras can affect our physical, mental, spiritual and emotional balance at varying degrees. Each of these 7 Chakra is unique. They differ in their location, representative colours, effect on our physical, mental, spiritual and emotional balance and how well energy is able to flow and circulate though them.

Crystal healing is intrinsically connected with Chakras. It is therefore important to understand about the basic 7 Chakra meaning in order to understand crystal healing on a deeper level. In this post, we will give you a basic understanding of what Chakras are, where are the 7 Chakras located, and what each Chakra is connected with.

7 Chakra Meaning

What are Chakras?

Chakras are energy wheels located across our body. The term “Chakra” came from the Sanskrit word depicting circular items like wheels which signifies continuity. They are not a part of our physical body structure or organs. Important energy flows through them and as such allowing the movement of prana, which is also known as life force. The awareness of Chakras came from old drawn diagrams and scriptural texts and teachings.

The nurturing and looking after of Chakras has been used in Eastern traditions and has been adapted by yoga trainers, energy workers and other relevant occupation. Chakras may be open, closed, underactive or excessively active. As mentioned, each Chakra is unique as they have different functions and serves different purposes in keeping all aspects of a body balanced. Even though not all Chakras facilitate the same amount of energy flow, the amount of energy flow would balance out across all Chakras.

The origin of the 7 Chakras and an overview of the 7 chakra meaning

  1. Color and location of each Chakra
  2. What are the physical and emotional connections of each Chakra

The History Of Chakras

Before written works in any form were even established to be a way of keeping records of information, stories and teachings, the concept of Chakras has already been verbally passed down from one generation to another. About a thousand years later between 1200 and 900 BC, people started to write and explore their Chakras. The orders of the Chakras were introduced in India between 1500 and 500 BC. Practices involving Chakras developed in both Buddhism and Hinduism despite most of them blossoming from Buddhism. A visual image of a chakra is represented using a lotus in most practices. The entire flower represents the main Chakra. The opening of the flower would represent the unblocking or opening of a Chakra. While the petals of the flower represent the other Chakras nearby of deferring functions as compared to its main Chakra. These other Chakras are not aligned to the spinal bones.

Each Chakra has its own shade of color due to how the frequency of vibration of the Chakra responds to wavelengths of light. The colors of the main Chakras ascend from the base of the spine to the top of the head in the sequence of the colors in a rainbow. The tint of the color of each Chakra is an indication of your physical, mental and emotional state in relation to the purpose and effects of the Chakra.

Root Chakra – #1 Of The 7 Chakra Meaning

The first Chakra is represented by the color red and this Chakra is located at the base of the spine. It is responsible for the amount of life and energy we reflect and the eagerness towards our takes on varying situations. The Root Chakra expresses our connection to the earth as well as our sexuality, physical strength and reaction in dire circumstances. This Chakra is also related to the importance of judgment and organization in any actions.

Sacral Chakra – #2 Of The 7 Chakra Meaning

The second Chakra is represented by the color orange and can be located at the lower abdomen area. The Sacral Chakra also impacts sexuality. Other emotional connections this Chakra has are pleasure, aspirations, imagination, understanding of others and many more. Some physical connection would be to the reproductive organs, large intestine, bladder and others nearby too.

Solar Plexus Chakra – #3 Of The 7 Chakra Meaning

Next, the third Chakra can be located slightly above and behind the belly button. The represented color is yellow. With the Sanskrit word for the Solar Plexus Chakra meaning “city of jewels”, this Chakra is accountable for positive outcomes in both the personal and professional aspects. When this Chakra is healthy, you’ll experience strong positive emotions like being merry, optimistic, perky and appreciation towards others. Glands like the Adrenal gland is connected to the Solar Plexus Chakra.

Heart Chakra – #4 Of The 7 Chakra Meaning

The fourth Chakra, also known as the Heart Chakra, is represented mainly by the color green. It can also be represented by the color pink. The heart Chakra can be located at the area in the middle of your chest at the lowest part of your sternum. This Chakra heavily influences the quality of the relationships with the people around you. Physical connections of glands to this Chakra are the Thymus and Lymph. The sense of touch also resonates with the Heart Chakra.

Throat Chakra – #5 Of The 7 Chakra Meaning

Next would be the Throat Chakra which is located at the collar bone where the throat is. This fifth Chakra is represented by the color blue and it is linked to the extent of capabilities towards communications, attentiveness and efficiency of information absorption. Organs or glands that have physical connections to the Throat Chakra have relations to either communication or listening like the jaws, teeth and ears. Having a balanced Throat Chakra allows for more efficient meditation and energy expenditure. It also allows for a person to spiritually ascend to a higher sitting. Artistry abilities would be enhanced as well as one’s vocals and demonstrative expressions.

Third Eye Chakra – #6 Of The 7 Chakra Meaning

The sixth Chakra is represented by the color indigo and can be located at the area between the eyebrows. The Third Eye Chakra means the heart of knowing. Hence, those with a balanced Chakra would emotionally be able to sweep people off their feet with their charismatic personality. Having a balanced sixth Chakra may also mean having telepathic abilities and little anxiety towards the thoughts of passing. As the Third Eye Chakra has relations to electricity, it is hence correlated to the sense of Thought.

Crown Chakra – #7 Of The 7 Chakra Meaning

Lastly, the seventh Chakra which is also known as the Crown Chakra. It is represented by the color purple and can be located right at the top of the head. It is physically connected to areas around the head, the brain, nervous system and the pituitary gland. When it is balanced, emotional connections like the reality of death and eternal life gets lifted. In addition, the ability to process regularly occurring observable situations ameliorates.

If you like what you have read so far, don’t forget to follow us on Instagram and if you would like to read more about how you can balance your Chakra with Chakra breathing techniques, click HERE.